My BFF, Tala, the inspiration for a character in my new novel!

IMG_0096IMG_0013

Too bad the snow on this blog is virtual and only on the page but that is the sad price we pay for living in North Carolina… well, one of many sad many prices… but this is the one that is most frustrating to our Siberian Huskies. We get a few snow storms each year but none last long and I don’t think we had any last year!

IMG_2851

I am writing in the screen room today with the dogs and all is quiet. The temperature is very comfy! As the sun sets, it is 70 degrees! Certainly not a December evening!

The neighborhood has been quiet. We have not had any roaming dogs since the neighbor’s pit bulls killed our other neighbor’s cat in my yard. My dogs have been so quiet I thought something was wrong with them but I have to admit that having stray dogs walk through the neighborhood had everyone’s dogs in a frantic state.

100_3002

As some of you know, I am a writer. I stay at home and write, I also try to keep my home in one piece and keep the dogs from destroying too much. I spent the month of November writing a new novel and competing in NaNoWriMo, which I won, yeah!

she is not even half done!

Tala is not even half done!


My new novel, The Last Daughter, is heavy with Norse mythology and my Siberians were an inspiration for one character, mainly Tala. The Valkyries of Norse Mythology rode winged horses, ravens or wolves from the battlefields to Valhalla carrying the brave warriors who’d died. My main character is a leftover Valkyrie, or so she thinks and she has a wolf for her sidekick.

Tala is not even half done!
The wolf companion, Carla (for lack of a better name), has been with her for two thousand years or so. This wolf can slip in and out of human form at will and is loosely based on Tala, my BFF.

I tried to imagine Tala as a human companion, charged by Odin with my care and protection. I also tried to imagine this character with many of Tala’s stubborn spoiled traits. It is a lot of fun writing, Tala must know something is up, since she has been hanging around with her head resting on my feet as I write.

I suspect Tala would take her job seriously, as she takes a few alpha chores now. For example, when the water bowl freezes, she will lick an access hole while the other dogs wait patiently, sometimes it takes forever! So, I spent much of November imagining Tala in a human form with her prey drive, her sense of humor and last but not least her sarcasm…

IMG_0489

Siberians want to know, do you love them?

